Race Reports

Wilne 10k 2021

Entries for the 10th annual Wilne 10k which took place on Sunday 5th September sold out again in advance of race day.

Following the postponement of 2020’s race due to Covid-19, runners were enthusiastic to be back for the 2021 race and there was a great turnout on race day.

The weather on race morning provided warm and sunny conditions. The atmosphere was superb as usual and the support of volunteers and spectators also gave our runners additional motivation some of whom were running their first 10k race. We were delighted to host the Midland Counties Athletics Association 10k Championships and the Derbyshire Athletics 10k Championships again this year.

The race took the usual scenic, flat and fast route around the Church Wilne between the picturesque villages of Draycott and Sawley in Derby.

First 10km runner over the line this year was Will Battershill of Erme Valley Harriers in 29.54, second was Freddie Hessian of Notts AC in 30.10 and third was Alastair Watson, also of Notts AC in 30.17.

The first female to cross the finish line was Hannah Robinson of Birchfield Harriers in 35.30. Second was Rebecca Gallop of Newark AC in 36.32 and in third place was Georgina Weston of Rotherham Harriers and AC in 36.48.

The course record of 29.51 held by 2015’s winner, Ryan Mcleod of Tipton Harriers, remains unbroken for a fourth year.

The existing female course record of 33.02 held by Jessica Coulson of Stockport Harriers and AC set in 2014 remains unchanged.

Huge thanks to The Derby Runner, Andra Health and Wilsons Pharmacy for providing the winners’ prizes. The Race Village in Brookfields Farm field featured pre and post-race massage from Andra Health, Derby Runner retail stand, Treetops Hospice charity stall and refreshments provided by Funky Food.

A special thank you to Brookfield Farm, all of our sponsors and our fantastic, hard-working volunteers without whom there would be no event.

The event is again proud to be part of the RunDerby Race Series – visit http://www.runderby.co.uk/race-series for more information.

2019 Race Report

2018 Race Report

2017 Race Report

2016 Race Report

2015 Race Report

2014 Race Report

2013 Race Report

2012 Race Report

2011 Race Report