2016 Race Report

2016 Race Report

Entries for the 6th Western Power Distribution Wilne 10k which took place on Sunday 4th September sold out in record time. With a wet and windy start to the day, the rain soon cleared and the sun came out as runners started to gather in the Race Village – a new location for 2016 with a busy and buzzing atmosphere. There was a great turnout with 940 starters, with many claiming a personal best time.

Danal Desta of Swansea Harriers won the race with a time of 30.18, shortly followed by Alastair Watson of Notts AC with a time of 30.22. The first female to the finish line was Lincoln Wellington's Sophie Cowper with a time of 34.41, with London 2012 Olympian Ava Hutchinson second with a time of 34.54. Danal and Sophie also claimed the 1st to 5k male and female prizes, respectively.

Notts AC were the winning male team with a cumulative time of 2.08.15 with team members Alastair Watson, Stuart Spencer, Rob Keal and John Muddeman. The winning female team was Derby Athletic Club with a cumulative time of 1.57.58 with team members Rachel Olivant, Leonie Shipley and Steph Spencer.

The Local Male and Female prizes were won by Nicholas Dennis and Sarah Semmens, both of Long Eaton Running Club.

No course records were broken this year due to the windy conditions. Tipton Harriers' Ryan McLeod still holds the male title from 2015 with a time of 29.51 and Jessica Coulson of Stockport Harriers & AC retains the 2014 female title with a time of 33.02.

2016's official charity was Derbyshire Mind and donations exceeded £2,150, with more expected to be received in the weeks after the event.