2017 Race Report

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

2017 Race Report

Entries for the 7th annual Wilne 10k which took place on Sunday 3rd September sold out again this year in record time. The weather on the day provided perfect running conditions with the rain holding off. The atmosphere was superb as usual and the support of volunteers and spectators also gave our runners additional motivation some of whom were running their first 10k race. We were delighted to host the Midland Masters AC 10k Championships, Midland Road Running League and the Derbyshire Athletics 10k Championships.

This year’s race, with a field of 943 runners, took the scenic, flat and fast route around the Church Wilne between the picturesque villages of Draycott and Sawley in Derby.

First 10km runner over the line this year was Stuart Spencer of Notts AC in 30:59, second was Shaun Antell of Bideford AAC in 31:05 and third was Chris Rainsford of Highgate Harriers in 31:17.

The first female to cross the finish line was Amanda Crook of Southport Waterloo AC in 35:02. Second was Heather Timmins of Thames Valley Harriers in 36:04 and in third place was Juliet Potter of Charnwood A C club in 36:33.

The course record of 29.51 held by 2015’s winner, Ryan Mcleod of Tipton Harriers, remains unbroken for a second year. The existing female course record of 33.02 held by Jessica Coulson of Stockport Harriers and AC set in 2014 also remains unchanged. For a full list of the race prize winners please the Results page.  The provisional results list is also now available.

Thanks to Rob and the team at The Derby Runner who sponsored the age category prizes and an exclusive prize for 1st Local Male and Female prizes donated by Wilsons Pharmacy additional prizes including 1st to 5k sponsored by Bridge Natural Health.

The Race Village in Brookfields Farm field featured pre and post-race massage from Bridge Natural Health, Derby Runner retail stand, Fibro Active fundraising stall and refreshments provided by The Wolf Hut.

A special thank you to Brookfield Farm, all of our sponsors and our fantastic, hard-working volunteers without whom there would be no event.

The event is again proud to be part of the RunDerby Race Series – visit http://www.runderby.co.uk/race-series for more information.